excuse me, are you calling me fat?

Just last month I posted a picture holding my friend’s twins, who are now 1. They total about 22 lbs each. 44 lbs isn’t easy for me to manage. The way I was holding them made my stomach go forward. Two incredibly unaware people decided it would be okay to message me and ask when I was due.
Yes. You read that right. They didn’t ask if I was pregnant. Which would be just as rude. They asked when I was due. They were SO sure that I was pregnant. One has been a long time friend of mine although we are not super close anymore. I could see how she would be excited for me, if that is what she thought she saw. The other one, an acquaintance, was just being nosy.
Now I don’t know about you, but my mama didn’t raise me like that. She always said it doesn’t matter if a woman appears to be 9 months pregnant. YOU NEVER ASK HER.
How could these people be so sure that I was pregnant that they would ask when I was due? I weight 112 lbs on my “heavy” days. What do they think they even saw in the picture? Believe me I am farrrrr from perfect, but one thing I don’t have is a big stomach.
Of all weeks to say something like that to me, this wasn’t it. I found out that Tuesday that my 4th IVF attempt failed, and on that Saturday was asked when I was due. Good timing ladies, good timing.
I decided this could be a good learning experience. I explained that no, I wasn’t pregnant and that she should never ever ever ask someone that because she has no idea what someone could be going through. Let’s just hope she never does that again.
Author: JPK

29 MWF in search of motherhood.

Leave a Reply

