the emotional cost and the financial cost.

Many people may look at someone like me and say, “why don’t you just adopt?” I am not sure why people feel the need to make comments like this. Why don’t I just adopt? Because I want to experience pregnancy. I want my own genetic child with my husband. It’s funny. People seem to think that adoption is so easy. Not only does it take a very special type of person to adopt, it can cost anywhere from $20,000- $50,000 depending if its domestic or international adoption. C and I just aren’t there yet. We want to try our best to have our own child first. However it needs to happen, I want to be able to carry OUR child.

Here’s there breakdown:

IVF without insurance – procedures + meds = $15,000- $20,000 each cycle

Freezing embryos – $1000 / year.

Many people may only do one retrieval and get enough eggs and they never have to do the stim drugs and retrieval again. Lucky them. I have never even gotten to the point where I can freeze.

IVF with insurance– Even with insurance, our failed cycles each cost us about $2,500. Not only do we have to recover from another failed cycle, we get a bill that says, “You owe $2,000 for your cycle”

DHEA and COQ10– Vitamins! There is a theory that people with DOR can benefit from taking these two supplements together. Our doc and many docs around the world seem to think they may help with egg quality. Let me really stress that NOTHING can help with egg QUANTITY. Quality and Quantity are two very very different things. I take both vitamins 3x a day. I bring them to work so I can take them during the day. They cost about $200 a month.

Genetic testing– Before we starting this journey, the Center makes you take a genetic test called Counsyl DNA screening. This tests for over 200 genetic abnormalities. It is about $400 if insurance doesn’t cover it. Luckily, mine came back and everything looked good. Still not sure what caused my DOR.

Donor egg– Ah, the thing I have been avoiding talking about. For now, I am not ready to discuss this in detail but I will say this, using an Egg Donor is our LAST option. It is kind of like adoption, yes. But it would be my husband’s sperm, another woman’s egg, and my body bringing it to life. This would allow me to experience pregnancy like any other women. The cost- $25,000-$100,000 dollars. (depending on the bank– most run $20-40k it seems depending on how many cohorts you buy). It would be our job to pay for the woman’s time, travel and legal fees. That is all I will say about this topic for now.

Author: JPK

29 MWF in search of motherhood.

Leave a Reply

