“Option A is not available, so let’s just kick the shit out of option B.”

Sheryl Sandberg, the COO of Facebook, among other things, gave the 2016 commencement speech at UC Berkeley today.  I often look forward to listening to commencement speeches during graduation season, in hopes that I can learn something from people who have walked this earth longer than I have. For the first time publicly, Sheryl talks so bravely and eloquently about losing her husband suddenly one year and eleven days ago. 

I am so glad I spent the 25 minutes to listen to her words today. Life is all about how you get back up when life knocks you down. It is not only how you manage the good days, but also the bad.

 “When life sucks you under, you can kick against the bottom, find the surface, and breathe again. I learned that in the face of the void, or in the face of any challenge, you can choose joy and meaning.”

If you have the time, I urge you to listen. I am so ready to kick the shit out of our plan B.

 (FF to hour 1:23) http://fortune.com/2016/05/14/sandberg-uc-berkley-transcript/

Author: JPK

29 MWF in search of motherhood.

Leave a Reply

