baseline.

I went in for my baseline appointment today which consists of blood work,  ultrasound and checking my weight. Usually the day after you start your period is considered baseline. They were booked Monday so today was my day.  Since I got my period on Sunday, they wanted to make sure my uterine lining looked nice and thin so they can start building it back up with estrogen. They also took blood to check my progesterone and estrogen levels. Everything looked good and I was told that tomorrow I will start the real drugs that start to prepare my lining for our ET  (embryo transfer). After this cycle, assuming we get pregnant and want more children, we will be have a FET (frozen embryo transfer).  Our hope is to have left over embryos that we can freeze for future use.

My nurse gave me a timeline and went over all the meds I will be on. She also explained that due to the 4th of July holiday and my doctor’s schedule, unfortunately my cycle is being pushed back almost 2 weeks. I was super bummed since I feel like we have been waiting forever to get to this point.

I called C after my appointment to let him know and he was equally as bummed. We decided to reach back out to the nurse to see if she could call the lab (they are the people incharge of scheduling egg thawing and fertalization) and figure something else out. We made it very clear when we met with her last that I don’t care if another doc does my transfer. Last time I made it to transfer (the only time!) my doc wasn’t working that day, so I had someone else anyhow. And to be perfectly honest, I prefer a different Doctor. Dr. E had been the barer of bad news for the past year so as you can imagine, I don’t enjoy seeing him. Bless his heart.

We were so happy to get an email back from our nurse saying she called the lab and they were able to work something out sooner. SO!! we are back on track, minus a day or two, but i’ll take it! I guess it never hurts to ask. 🙂

Tomorrow morning I will start the following:

baby aspirin- 1 a day ( I bought small orange flavored chewables to make it more enjoyable)

prenatal vitamin- continue until hopefully 10 months from now!

estrogen patches- I will start with one patch and that will stay on for 2 days, and on the 3rd day I will take the patch off and apply a new patch. After 4 days the dose will go up to 2 patches, which will last for a few days and go up to 3 patches, and then after a few days go up to 4 patches. If necessary, they will also have me take an estrogen tablet. That is A LOT of  estrogen. The nurse said 80% of woman also need the estrogen pill, so not to worry if I do. Because estrogen feeds breast cancer cells, it is imperative that I keep the patches applied to my lower body (no higher than my belly button).

lupron- my dose starting tonight will be 5 units instead of the 10 units I have been taking.

The day the eggs are thawed, I will start taking progesterone oil injection shots to my lower back. YAY! No really,  I mean it. This means we are making progress.

As for a timeline and specific dates, I don’t want to share that at this time. I found that when I share specific dates in the past, it puts more pressure on us. I know that may sound weird, but it just does. At this time, we have everything written out and we are just taking it one day at a time and not really looking at the next thing. It has been hard to stay present, but now starting my 7th cycle, I think I have it down. The saying”We will cross that bridge when we get to it” has helped me a lot. You know what’s funny? Every appointment in the last year, whether it was blood work and ultrasound, or just blood work or talking to the doc, I ALWAYS brought my folder (that looks like an encyclopedia) and my pen and pad to write everything down. Today, I had both BW/US and met with my nurse, and I didn’t even bring a pen. She always sends me an email of what I need to know. I have learned that there is nothing more I can do at this time. So what is the point in getting all stressed? It hasn’t helped me thus far!

We will inform everyone when it is necessary, and of course reach out if we need anything from our wonderful support system! What you should know: starting tomorrow, the meds I take will start working on my uterus. The goal is to build up the lining to make it nice and cushiony for an embryo (or 2) to live for the next 9 months! This sure does take time, but we are getting closer. Within the next 6 weeks or so we should have news. I am hoping good news.🔜🍼🍼 ❓❓The next hurtle is finding out how many eggs fertilize and grow! 🍳🍳👶👶
Stay tuned…

(progesterone shot – on left, estrogen patch- on right, and lupron shot lower right)

Author: JPK

29 MWF in search of motherhood.

Leave a Reply

