9 weeks.

It’s been a tough couple of weeks. The nausea is constant and lasts almost from when I wake up until when I fall asleep. It’s exhausting and makes it really hard to keep up with food and drink when I feel so terrible. 

Last night, Friday, I finally caved and went to the ER for hydration therapy. My appointment on Thursday with my OB helped clear up what is the bare minimum  for what we need to survive. And the 20-30 ounces of liquid a day isn’t cutting it. I also have lost about 6 lbs. After weeks of not drinking enough, the IV was the way to go. Last night the nasuea was so intense that I couldnt eat or drink anything.  My OB says I can have hydration therapy at home if needed. Work is extremely difficult during this time. Just keeping my head up and off my desk is such a stuggle. She started me on a pill that I take at night and that helps with nausea. I will continue that at night to see how it helps. 

The ultrasound above is from our 9 week appointment. We got to see 3D pictures of them and it was super cool. We also got to hear their strong heartbeats, 175 and 176. Baby B was a bit shy so we got to see the back, and spine but it was mostly hiding. Baby A was in plain sight and laying on its back. So far everything looks good, I just need to get better! Monday I go in for a weight check and then I should be having another ultrasound in the next few weeks. I will be seeing Maternal Fetal Medicine and my OB in tandem. Because I am considered high risk, MFM monitors me as well. 

The picture above shows the babies together. If you look closely, you can see their heads and bodys. Today I am 9 weeks 2 days, and they are the size of a green olive. 

Author: JPK

29 MWF in search of motherhood.