34 weeks 3 days

20170218_110310.jpgWell I haven’t written in a while so here’s an update. The babies tried to come on February 3rd.  I was feeling pretty crampy and I went to the doctor and she told me to go right to the hospital. I was 90% effaced and 1 centimeter. My mom was home from work that day thankfully, so I called her and she brought me right to the hospital. C met us there. By the time I got to the hospital I was 3 centimeters. That exam was terrible! They had to check me probably four times during my stay and it’s just unbearable pain because of the positioning of his head, and how low he is.

After four sleepless nights and five days, they were able to stop the labor thank God. They did administer two doses of a drug to help develop their lungs. That was the most important thing, to make sure they got that in their system within 48 hours.

It was touch-and-go and we thought for sure they would come February 3. I was so scared and not ready. I don’t think you can ever be ready. The house was ready, but mentally I wasn’t and of course worried about being only 32 weeks. The doctors reassued us that even if they came, they should do well even if they had to go to the NICU for a few weeks.

C slept there every night with me. Sleeping was tough since the nurses came in every hour or so and it’s hard for me to sleep with an IV. I am super sensitive to it. Poor C had to sleep on a small couch. We watched the superbowl on the big TV in our room. It was very spacious and we had a nice view of the city. Then they moved me to the 8th floor once they thought I was stable after 3 nights. That room was terrible and smaller than my dorm room in college. It was last updated in the 80’s I think. Thank God I was only there one night. It was funny because when they moved us to that small room, we had a perfect view of C’s office.

Once they felt like they had stopped the labor, they sent me home on modified bed rest. It has been hard being home doing basically nothing all day. It’s also hard because I don’t know what is a just cramping versus a contraction.

I have occasional visitors and my MIL and Mom have brought food which is been very helpful. My MIL also gave me a coloring book that keeps me busy. I am sick of daytime TV, who would have thought? I am trying to remember how important each day is to keep them in and how I need to soak up the silence!!  So for now, my goals are get through the day and stay hydrated to keep contractions away. Fingers crossed they stay put for a few more weeks. 35 weeks this Thursday!

My belly on the monitor.

Author: JPK

29 MWF in search of motherhood.